Dotty View: Dead City Lights – Come Alive EP

Hailing from Phoenix, Arizona, this is a trio of musicians who are releasing their music with the hope of connecting with their followers and providing them with a positive message. That’s not a bad philosophy to start off with!

Image

Their self-released debut EP “Come Alive” is indicative of their style, and has catapulted them into the limelight. You just have to see that they’re already coming up to 100,000 followers on twitter to realise that. I know – quality, not quantity, but that’s no mean feat for a band who are yet to release a full album.

I’ve never heard anyone over here mention them at all! Because of this, I was itching to hear why, so I gave their EP a listen… I had no idea what to expect, so what you’re about to read is what I wrote down as soon as I heard each song, which I did with no preconceptions whatsoever.

Kiss and Tell

This song starts well, then the vocals kick in, and the kind of voice Erfort has isn’t one I’m keen on. I’m thinking McFly crossed with Green Day. Tuneful, with romantic lyrics, but at the same time trying to be shouty & angry. For me, it doesn’t really fuse too well.

Come Alive

I think this song is trying to be anthemic. It’s certainly got life in it, and the “woah-oh-oh’s” are well placed, but to be honest we’ve heard it all before.

Image

Castaway

Same again – I’m not saying one trick pony, not at all, just that they have a definite preferred style which throughout this EP they’ve not really deviated from too much. I hope they can show they can be slightly more varied in their future, otherwise they run the risk of people getting a bit bored. On a more positive note, the vocals are much better on this song.

A Ghost Without a Name

This has 30 Seconds to Mars written all over it. It should be released as a single, and pronto – I reckon it will do well. Really well.

Get Me Home

I like the fast drums in this song. There’s a better rhythm in general, and the whole song works better than the earlier songs on the EP. It has a sweet ending, too – I’m a fan of waves.

You know what? It may seem like I’m dissing this band, but as always I admire people who find their style, go with it and get out there with it. Quite honestly, this is a great band for teenage girls who are wanting to break away from the generic “pop” music out there. Sorry for the generalisation, but that’s honestly who I think they’ll appeal to most with their style. There’s nothing wrong with that. If it gets kids listening to rock music who wouldn’t ordinarily have done so, then that’s great in my opinion!

They’re enthusiastic, and they are what they are. They just aren’t for me. Maybe they’re for you! Give them a go!

Facebook

Twitter

Reverbnation

iTunes

Leave a Reply

